top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLia Davis

Investing in the Middle East: Adventures in Morocco

Updated: Mar 18, 2021

My trip to Morocco helped expose me to an entirely different world of culture from my own. I visited Morocco on a school trip in high school with my Arabic class. While there, we stayed with locals and explored multiple cities throughout the country. I heard not only Arabic but French and Spanish as well and it amazed me how almost everyone there was fluent in 4 languages. I found this to be very inspiring. This trip influenced me to continue my study of the Arabic language throughout my undergraduate career. I earned a minor in Arabic Studies from the University of Illinois in 2019 and I learned so much from it. Not only did I develop language skills but I learned about history, religion, and politics of the Middle Eastern region. I enjoyed learning about unique topics that I never learned about since everything I learned in high school was so Euro-centric. I loved this trip and am thankful for the world that it opened me up to.




15 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page